Long distance relationship

Hello everyone. I've never done something like this before, but I feel desperate and heartbroken. I'm currently in a 2.5 years relationship with my boyfriend, whom I love very very much. He makes me very happy. The problem is me.We've been going through a really tough time for the past one year. I'm not the best girlfriend in the entire world. I'm an introvert, and I always tend to push people away, and I tend to be very insensitive and rude sometimes. I say things without meaning to. I'm afraid I hurt him a lot a few times over the past few years. He's very sensitive and he used to deal with it quietly till he burst once. After that, I started to realize how I've treated him has been wrong and I did my best to change my attitude. My attitude has even caused him to start having trust issues. I get very defensive, and I used to never understand when he felt insecure. I'm also quite selfish. I'm ashamed to admit it but it's the truth. I'm very focused on my academic life, my ambitions, my dreams. I always have been since I was very young. I decided last year that I wanted to go abroad to study, but as stupid as I was then, I never told my boyfriend clearly or talked to him about it properly. I sprung it onto him once, and he broke down. He said he could not deal with me going abroad and he didn't think that it was the best thing for our relationship. I know I should've left him then knowing that this doing this would't make my happy. But I couldn't. Something always brought me back to him. I loved him so much, I couldn't stand to lose him. I still love him so much. I understand more now after the initial realisation that my attitude and ego and pride was hurting him. We started working on our problems and I can see him getting happier and feeling more comfortable. I can't explain how much we want to be together. We have hopes and dreams of a future together. We both want it equally. ?But my parents are very supportive of my dreams to go abr