I am a 24 year old opiate/heroin addict.

I've been using for 6 years or so, only used heroin within the last few years, intravenously only once (horrifying experience). I am currently on subutex, prescribed to me by my doctor to prevent opiate withdrawal because I had been using heavy narcotics and heroin when I found out I was pregnant. Opiate withdrawal can cause miscarriage, so I can't stop taking it. Subutex is addictive, and the baby will be born addicted, and will have to be weaned off of it using morphine.

I was in the process of getting clean when I found out I was pregnant. Doesn't sound like it, but I was. I was tapering down my doses, and only using when I had a toothache or had to work (opiate withdrawal+work=torture). As soon as I discovered my pregnancy, I dropped it all together and went into acute withdrawal for two days. On the second day I called a doctor who told me not to quit, to get into a subutex program, otherwise I would miscarry. So I used vicodin and suboxone intermittently until I was in the program.

I got into opiates because, well, I liked putting stuff up my nose and coke was too expensive. After a couple of years that developed into a full blown addiction. I've done most drugs known to man, and some that were even made up. I think the only thing I haven't tried is methamphetamines, and even some of that was in the ecstasy tablets I'd take every weekend.

Anyway, my point is, I've been there. I understand addiction and a lot of the underlying issues with addiction, including the guilt associated with knowing my baby will suffer withdrawal symptoms because of my own stupidity. So, if any of you have questions or concerns, you can talk to me. :)